Sri Lanka to be Removed from Red List rules for Entering England

Admin | 17 Sep, 2021 06:53PM | Leave a comment
On 22 September 4am, Sri Lanka will be moved off the UK government's red list. There are total of 8 countries that will be removed from the red travel list from that day onwards. Those countries are: Turkey, Pakistan, The Maldives, Egypt, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Oman and Bangladesh.

From 4th of October, the current travel traffic light system of red, amber and green countries will be scrapped and replaced with one red list only. Anywhere not on the red list is considered as green and clear for travel, there will no longer be an amber list.

Also from that date, fully vaccinated passengers will no longer need to take a pre-departure test for travelling into England from non-red list countries. Then, from the end of October, they will be able to replace their day-two PCR test with a cheaper lateral flow test.

Those who are unvaccinated will still have to pay for PCR tests.

Those returning from red list countries will still need to spend 10 days in a government-approved quarantine hotel.

Anyone testing positive will need to isolate and take a free confirmatory PCR test which would be genomically sequenced to help identify new variants.

This means the new system, which is expected to stay in place at least until the New Year, should be in effect as people return from half-term breaks.